Met Gala 2019: Catholicism, Headpieces, and Trains

The Heavenly Bodies: Fashion and the Catholic Imagination theme was a true success. Especially compared to last year’s Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons where most attendees failed to comply with the special dress code. There was a whole “are you a sinner or a saint” notion involved with the costumes. I was certainly very impressed with a majority of the looks this year especially those who really went all out. I’m still not over some of the looks, they were unreal. There was nods to Catholicism, angels, saints, sinners,  and much more all going up the steps of the Met. My favorite looks were Blake Lively (literal queen), Rihanna (Met Gala queen), Gigi Hadid, Stella Maxwell, Emilia Clarke, Rosie Huntington Whitley, and Amber Heard. Honestly, there were a bunch of other looks that could be added to that list but you know I had to give you my top. Not going to lie thought it was hard to condense a list to just a hand-full. Hands-down Blake Lively was my absolute favorite!

The first big trend were the headpieces and/or cloak-like hoods, here are some of the standouts:

The second big trend were trains, which I feel always make an appearance at the Met but nevertheless the number of train going down that carpet and up those stairs were insane last night.

Leave a comment